Squadra di Vecchi Tori


Post Tour hangover ? by kiwicyclist
August 4, 2011, 6:55 am
Filed under: General

Suffering Tour withdrawal symptoms?

Yeah I’ll bet many of you are – well I’ve got a whole bunch of stuff to post up in the next few days by way of an update and to complete the Tour write up.  As a distraction, if you are in Melbourne you should get out and watch the final of the Dirty Deeds Cyclocross series – to be held back at Harrison St Velodrome towards the end of the month.  I read the writeup on the second race that took place a few weeks ago and it looked like a cracker – these races keep getting better and better and I’m disappointed I’ll miss the final race by only a couple of days.

My family arrived the Monday after the Tour finished on the Champs Elysees and we have continued travelling in France after spending a week in a cramped apartment near the Musee D’Orsay. 

I’ve managed to not crash the car driving on the right hand side of the road and my cunning plan of getting my bike on the roof, my bike bag collapsed and lashed to the roofracks and having a suitcase full of stuff shipped back to Melbourne to avoid being slugged (again) with huge excess baggage fees – all while avoiding divorce – is coming along quite nicely.

We are currently based in the Loire valley and I’ve managed to get out on a few rides that are a total contrast to the mountains – nice and flat which probably suits my waistline that is taking a post-Tour hammering from French pastries, bagettes, cheese and wine – I can’t understand why most french people I’ve met eat like horses with apparent impunity. 

In a slightly perverse sense we are missing out a bit here as there is very little post Tour excitement of any kind around here or in Paris during the following week for that matter – in contrast to the celebrations and excitement going on back in Oz.  If  Volker had won perhaps it may have been different here.

Anyway, plenty to write about and some of it cycling related.

Blog update coming soon when I finish sorting through the photos I am rapidly accumulating.   Suffice to say the Chateaux here in the Loire  are jawdroppingly incredible, the weather has been amazing and we have finally found some decent restaurant food after encountering mostly tourist tat in Paris. 

Au revoir for now.

Kiwicyclist.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

