Squadra di Vecchi Tori


Melburn Roobaix by kiwicyclist
July 1, 2011, 7:02 am
Filed under: Rides

I mentioned below that I had just taken part in the annual Melburn Roobaix ride last Sunday. Well I managed to lug the D90 around and snapped off a few reasonable shots while riding around with a bunch of friends. Some of them appear below.

This was my fourth Roobaix and it marked something of an evolution for the event ( which is now huge with over a thousand riders taking part) and for me personally. My first one was riding my first fixie about 5 years ago and the route took us through South Melbourne, through the CBD (including up a carpark)and around Brunswick to finish at the Harrison St Velodrome. It absolutely pissed down for most of the ride and made for some challenging riding over the pave. I think it was only the second year the event had been held and less than 200 of us rode. I was so shattered and cold that I had to catch the train of shame back to Armadale from Richmond.

In total contrast, this year was another great roll around some of the most interesting parts of the city starting over in my neck of the woods at the Hawthorn Velodrome and winding from Hawthorn, Kew, across to Footscray to the infamous West Melbourne Koppenberg cobbled climb.  All held in glorious winter sunshine and ending at Harrison St Velodrome again – but this time with sponsors’ tents, a photography booth, BBQs and a beer garden – as well as a well organised army of helpers –  massive!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

