Squadra di Vecchi Tori

Bay Crits – Williamstown 6.1.11 by kiwicyclist
January 7, 2011, 9:32 pm
Filed under: Pro Cycling
Jayco Bay Cycling Classic, stage four, Williamstown:
Robbie, Aido, Simon and I headed over to Williamstown earlier in the week to catch the action on stage 4 of the Jayco Bay Crits. 
It was my first time watching this annual event and I wasn’t disappointed.  Plenty of stem chewing action with the cream of the crop of top Aussie pros battling it out around a rectangular circuit in Williamstown, one of Melbourne’s bayside suburbs.
We managed to find a pub conveniently located right next to the course – it wasn’t quite Belgian kermesse madness but sure was a nice way to spend an early January afternoon.
Graeme Brown:
Squadra form – essential training work:
McEwen, a 5 time past winner of the series:
Gerro, latter part of the race after being out on the attack with Renshaw for most of the afternoon:
A tight corner leading into the straight we were on had a slight incline heading away from the bay which meant that most riders had to get out of the saddle and stay there for 50-100 meters to regain top speed.  It eventually took its toll.  Renshaw:
Wise and honorable gentlemen surveying the form with a professional eye:
Uncle Phil, over for commentating duties and shortly to head to Adelaide for the TDU:
Exiting the turn mentioned above:
and entering it:
Post race interview:
Winner Matt Goss:
Final results for stage 4:

Elite Men :

1, Matt Goss (E3/Pure Tas)
2, Allan Davis (Bikebug.com)
3, Michael Matthews (Urban)
4, Chris Sutton (Team Sky)
5, Bernie Sulzberger (E3/Pure Tas)
6, Leigh Howard (Jayco VIS),
7, Tom Scully (Garmin Cervelo)
8, Jonathan Cantwell (Lowe Farms/Boomaroo Nurseries)
9, Nick Walker (Fly V Australia)
10, Mat Hayman (Team Sky)

Final General Classification:

1, Matt Goss, 33 points
2, Michael Matthews, 31
3, Bernard Sulzberger, 25
4, Allan Davis, 24
5, Chris Sutton, 21
6, Greg Henderson (Team Sky), 16
7, Leigh Howard 14
8, Wes Sulzberger (E3/Pure Tas) 13
9, Simon Gerrans (Team Sky) 10
10, Baden Cooke (Lowe Farms/Boomaroo Nurseries) 9.

Sprint classification: Simon Gerrans (Team Sky)

Team classification: E3/Pure Tas

Read more: http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/6970/Jayco-Bay-Classic-Goss-wins-final-stage-and-overall-Arndt-and-Gilmore-triumph-in-womens-contest.aspx#ixzz1AL3DlyJA

 Pics below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and a link to the full flickr set can be found here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/48894104@N08/sets/72157625760377658/with/5330008858/

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: