Squadra di Vecchi Tori


The Lance doeth protest too little methinks by marcusoc
May 21, 2010, 12:09 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

If you haven’t already seen it, below is a link to Lance’s rejection of Floyd Landis’ allegations of doping.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/armstrong-rejects-landis-allegations

To my mind Floyd has made very specific allegations which Armstrong hasn’t very specifically denied. Example: Floyd said he collected his first batch of EPO (Eprex)  from Lance at Lance’s house in full view of Lance’s (very hot – my insertion) wife.

Now that is a pretty specific allegation. If it wasn’t true, why didn’t Lance clearly state that this didn’t occur – possibly saying something like, “Yes, Floyd has been to my house many times which makes the allegation easy to make, but I can categorically say that I have never handed him any drugs. Why don’t you ask my ex-wife..etc etc.”

Now maybe Lance didn’t do that because of the hearings that previously involved his wife and Mr and Mrs Frankie Andreu. But he coulda said something which sought to specifically dismiss this couldn’t he?

Instead, in his press conference, Lance’s first comment on the allegations goes straight to attacking the credibility of Floyd (of which Floyd has none by the way so he is flogging a dead horse), rather than the allegation itself. Lance has gone straight to “playing the man”. Here is Lance’s response:

“But with regard to the specific allegations and the specific claims, they are not even worth getting into. I’m not going to waste your time or my time. I think history speaks for itself here [“How so Lance?”]. We’ve all followed this case for the last four years…” And he goes on to talk about Landis history of lying and the Tour disqualification.

Lance then goes on with fairly mealy mouthed general statements rather than specific denials. To wit:

Why did he pin-point you and Johan Bruyneel?

“He didn’t. He pin-pointed a lot of people and I mean, let’s be honest. Obviously my name will be at the top of the story and my name will be in the headline.”

Ah Lance, I think by mentioning you, your missus and Eprex, we can safely say he DID pin-point you.

“Floyd leave me alone. Do what you have to do, I’m going to be fine, don’t worry about me but you have to stop texting me, annoying me, you have to stop harassing me.”

“Do what you have to do, I’m going to be fine”. Is that what you would say to a fella who has told you he is about to tell the world (what you say are) lies about you? I don’t think so. I would be telling Floyd that if he tells lies about me then he will be dealt with, etc. Just a weird thing to say Lance – even if I did say to Floyd that “I will be fine” I wouldn’t be telling people I said it.

“We have a person who has been under oath several times with a completely different version, written a book with a completely different version, someone that took money. He said he has no proof. It is his word versus ours. We like our word. We like where we stand and we like our credibility. I don’t think there is a lot of credibility on the other side so why would ASO think any differently.”

True enough, but Lance, why not give us something that more clearly illustrates your innocence and/or the impossibility of Landis’ statements?

Having read David Walsh’s book, “From Lance to Landis: Inside the American Doping Controversy at the Tour de France”, these answers from Lance are redolent of his earlier responses to other allegations. Carefully worded general statements of innocence combined with specific attacks on the allegation-maker, rather than specific denials of the allegation itself.

Not the most convincing display Lance.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m in Wade’s camp over at Cyclingtipsblog. I hope we never know either way. I think Lance has contributed so much to cycling in general and cancer in particular and those deeds elevate the man in my eyes. There is a selfless aspect to what he does that is lacking from any of the drug cheats Landis tries to link him with. What has Vino done that even comes close?

Comment by kiwicyclist




Leave a Reply

